Horticulture and Agronomy Home
Plant Sciences Home



Fall 2011 Seminars

last updated 10/5/11

If you have information about any of these seminars that you would like to share, or if you know of other seminars that you think would be interesting, please e-mail me at lfbrown@ucdavis.edu.

Agricultural & Environmental Chemistry
AGC 290-001 - Mondays, 4:10-6:00, 1 Wellman
    Instructor in charge:  Horwath (wrhorwath@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminars from invited speakers and student exit seminars
    CRN: 50604

Biological Systems Engineering
EBS 290 - TBA
    Instructor in charge: Delwiche (mjdelwiche@ucdavis.edu@ucdavis.edu)
    CRN:  59094

Biostatistics
(Not for everyone, but some of you might find it interesting!)
BST 290 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30, 1147 Math/Science
    Instructor in charge:  Hsieh (fushing@wald.ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminar in Biostatistics
    CRN: 55456

Community Development
CRD 290 - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00 pm, 141 Olson
    Instructor in charge:  Rios (mxrios@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 57622

Ecology
See the Ecology Seminar Webpage for more details.
ECL 296 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30 pm in 1003 Giedt Hall
    Instructor in charge:  Yang (lhyang@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series
    (This is a guest seminar series.)
    CRN: 60100
In addition to the Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series, a selection of ECL 290 student participatory seminars are offered, including:

      - Managing Grazing for Mulitple Ecosystem Services - Tradeoffs and Synergies
        (2 units, CRN 60087)
        Instructors in charge: Ken Tate and Leslie Roche

      - Forests Pests
        (2 units, CRN 60065)
        Instructor in charge: Alan Hastings

      - Forest Ecology Management Planning and Field Techniques
        (3 units, CRN 60056)
        Instructor in charge: Malcolm North

      - Ecology of Tropical Ecosystems
        (2 units, CRN 60040)
        Instructor in charge: Eliska Rejmankova

      - Conservation Genetics of Small Populations
        (2 units, CRN 60060)
        Instructor in charge: Ben Sacks

Entomology
ENT 297N - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00 pm, 122 Briggs
    Instructor in charge: Yang (lhyang@ucdavis.edu)
    Departmental Seminar
    CRN:  63048

Food Science & Technology
(only for those who are really interested in the science of food)
FST 290 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:00, Robert Mondavi Institute South Bldg
    Instructor in charge:  Carl Winter (ckwinter@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:
    CRN: 65477

Genetics
GGG 291 - Wednesdays, 3:10-5:00, 2005 PES
    Instructor:  Chetelat (trchetelat@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  History of Genetics
    CRN: 66358, 2 units (early drop)
GGG 292 - Mondays, 4:10-6:00, 1022 Life Sci Add
    Instructors:  Brady (sbrady@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Genomics and Epigenetics
    CRN: 83848

Geography
GEO 297 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:30, 290 Hickey Gym
    Instructor in charge:  Benner (ccbenner@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  What's Space Got to Do With It?
       Making Geography Relevant in the 21st Century
    CRN:  66157, 2 units
GEO 298 - Thursdays, 1:10-3:00, 166 Hunt Hall
    Instructors in charge:  Knudson (kmknudson@ucdavis.edu) and Gutstein
         John Muir Institute of the Environment
    Topic:  Education Outreach and Broader Impacts
    CRN:  66159, 2 units

Landscape Architecture
LDA 190 - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 230 Wellman
       (This is a Proseminar, upper division, not graduate level,
         so it won't satisfy the seminar requirement,
         but some quarters there are some very interesting topics covered
         -- or you might just want to attend occasional seminars)

    Instructor in charge:   Eric Larsen (ewlarsen@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Putah Creek: Lifeblood of the Region
    CRN: 68992

Molecular and Cellular Biology
MCB 291 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Starr (dastarr@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Joint Seminar in Molecular Biology
    CRN:  70864

Plant Biology
PBI 290B - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Groover (agroover@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: Seminars by UCD faculty and visiting scientists
    CRN: 74707
PBI 293 - Thursdays, 12:10-1:00, location to be determined
    Instructor in charge:  Saltveit (mesaltveit@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Postharvest Biology
    CRN: 74738

Plant Pathology
PLP 290 - Mondays, 9:00-09:50, 115 Hutchison
    Instructor in charge:  Leveau (jleveau@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Plant Pathology
    CRN: 77473 (early drop)

Plant Sciences
PLS 290-001 - Wednesdays, noon - 1:00, 3001 PES
    Instructor in charge:  Labavitch (jmlabavitch@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Plant Science
    CRN: 78181

Population Biology
PBG 290 - Tuesdays, 4:10-5:30, 1022 Life Sci Building
    Instructor in charge:  Begun (djbegun@ucdavis.edu)
    Varied topics in Population Biology
    CRN: 74565

Soil Science
SSC 290-039
Tuesdays, 4:10-5:00, 2004 PES
    Instructor in charge:  Kate Scow
    Student Organizers: Betsy Verhoeven (ecverhoeven@ucdavis.edu)
         and Sara Enders (skenders@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: Field Guide to SBG Graduate Group
    CRN: 81362

Viticulture & Enology
VEN 290 - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, RMI Sensory Theater 1000
    Instructor in charge:  Block (deblock@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Viticulture & Enology
    CRN: 82343