Plant Sciences Home
Horticulture and Agronomy Home



Spring 2012 Seminars

last updated 4/8/2012

If you have information about any of these seminars that you would like to share, or if you know of other seminars that you think would be interesting, please e-mail me at lfbrown@ucdavis.edu.

Agricultural & Environmental Chemistry
AGC 290-001 - Mondays, 4:10-6:00, 230 Wellman
    Instructor in charge:  Horwath (wrhorwath@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminars from invited speakers and student exit seminars
    CRN: 60595

Biological Systems Engineering
EBS 290 - TBA (contact instructor)
    Instructor in charge: Piedrahita (rhpiedrahita@ucdavis.edu)
    CRN:  69247

Biostatistics
(Not for everyone, but some of you might find it interesting!)
BST 290 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30, 1147 Math/Science
    Instructor in charge:  Drake (drake@wald.ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminar in Biostatistics
    CRN: 65561

Biotechnology
MCB 294 - Fridays, 11:00-12:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Kjelstrom (jakjelstrom@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 81044

Community Development
CRD 290 - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00 pm, 229 Wellman
    Instructor in charge:  Loux (jdloux@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 67809

Ecology
See the Ecology Seminar Webpage for more details.
ECL 296 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30 pm in 1003 Giedt Hall
    Instructor in charge:  Yang (lhyang@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series
    (This is a guest seminar series.)
    CRN: 70181
In addition to the Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series, a selection of ECL 290 student participatory seminars are offered. Some examples:

      - Foundations of Restoration Ecology
        (2 units, CRN 70113)
        Instructor in charge: Truman Young

      - Co-Evolutionary Basis of Plant Mutualistic Associations
        (1 unit, CRN 70128)
        Instructor in charge: Alison Berry

      - Agroecosystem Assessment
        (2 units, CRN 70139)
        Instructors in charge: Jim Quinn and Tom Tomich

      - Forest Ecology Management Planning and Field Techniques
        (3 units, CRN 70173)
        Instructor in charge: Malcolm North

      - Disturbance and Community Dynamics in a Changing Climate
        (2 units, CRN 70162)
        Instructor in charge: Andrew Latimer

      - Current Topics in Global Ecology, Biogeoscience and Policy
        (1 unit, CRN 70159)
        Instructor in charge: Ben Houlton

Entomology
ENT 297N - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00 pm, 122 Briggs
    Instructors in charge: Yang (lhyang@ucdavis.edu) and Chiu
    Departmental Seminar
    CRN:  73098
ENT 295 - TBA
    For info on time and place, contact Brian Johnson (brnjohnson@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Agricultural Entomology and Bees
    CRN: 93991, 2 units

Environmental Professional Preparation Seminars
GEO 298 - Thursdays, 1:10-3:00, 166 Hunt Hall
    Instructor in charge:   Gutstein (jjgutstein@ucdavis.edu) and Knudson (kmknudson@ucdavis.edu),
       John Muir Institute of the Environment
    Topic:  Communicating with Stakeholders and Policy- and Decision-Makers
    CRN:  76226, 2 units

Environmental Toxicology
ETX 290 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:00 pm, 1138 Meyer Hall (Foster Room)
    Instructors in charge: Alexeeff (gvalexeeff@ucdavis.edu)
    Ecological and Watershed Risk Assessment
    CRN:  74106

Food Science & Technology
(only for those who are really interested in the science of food)
FST 290 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:00, RMI South
    Instructor in charge:  Winter (ckwinter@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:
    CRN: 75546

Geography
GEO 297 - Tuesdays, 4:10-5:30, 1060 Bainer
    Instructor in charge:   Benner (ccbenner@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Geography in Action: Where the Rubber Hits the Road
    CRN:  76217, 2 units

Horticulture & Agronomy
HRT 290 - Mondays, 12:10-1:10, 3001 PES
    Instructor in charge:  Walker (awalker@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Exit seminars
    CRN: 77826

Land, Air, and Water Resources (LAWR) -- see Soil Science


Landscape Architecture
LDA 190 - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 230 Wellman
       (This is a Proseminar, upper division, not graduate level,
         so it won't satisfy the seminar requirement,
         but some quarters there are some very interesting topics covered;
         you might just want to attend occasional seminars)

    Instructor in charge:  Schenker (hmschenker@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 79006

Plant Biology
PBI 290B - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Groover (agroover@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: Seminars by UCD faculty and visiting scientists
    CRN: 84308
PBI 291 - Tuesdays, 12:10-1:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Beckles (dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: Exit seminars by Plant Biology graduate students
    CRN: 93696
PBI 293 - Thursdays, 12:10-1:00, 3053 Wickson or 90 SocSci/Hum
    Instructor in charge:  Crisosto (chcrisosto@ucdavis.edu)
    Discover Postharvest Resources
    CRN: 84339

Plant Pathology
PLP 290 - Mondays, 12:10-1:00, 115 Hutchison
    Instructor in charge: Bostock (rmbostock@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Plant Pathology
    CRN: 87107 (early drop)
PLP 295 - TBA (contact instructor)
    Instructor:  Rizzo (dmrizzo@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Mycology
    CRN: 87110 (early drop)

Plant Sciences
PLS 290-001 - Wednesdays, noon - 1:00, 3001 PES
    Instructor in charge:  Chetelat (trchetelat@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Plant Science
    CRN: 87807

Viticulture & Enology
VEN 290 - Tuesdays, 12:10-1:00, RMI Sensory Theater
    Instructor in charge:  Vandergheynst (jsvander@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Viticulture & Enology
    CRN: 92102