GGHA Home
Plant Sciences Home


Winter 2013 Seminars

last updated 1/6/2013

If you have information about any of these seminars that you would like to share, or if you know of other seminars that you think would be interesting, please e-mail me at lfbrown@ucdavis.edu.

Agricultural & Environmental Chemistry
AGC 290 - Mondays, 4:10-5:00, 234 Wellman
    Instructor in charge:  Horwath (wrhorwath@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminars from invited speakers and exit seminars
    CRN: 40619

Biological Systems Engineering
EBS 290 - TBA
    Instructor in charge: Bryan Jenkins (bmjenkins@ucdavis.edu)
    CRN:  49397

Biostatistics
(Not for everyone, but some of you might find it interesting!)
BST 290 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30, 1147 MathSci Bldg
    Instructor in charge:  J. Peng (jiepeng@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 45690

Community Development
CRD 290 - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00, 1006 Giedt Hall
         (possibly 105 Wellman; check with instructor, if interested)
    Instructor in charge:  Jonathan London (jklondon@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Doing Development
    CRN: 47918

Ecology
ECL 296 - Thursdays, 4:10-5:30 pm, 1001 Giedt Hall, CRN 50337
  (Ecology and Evolution Seminar Series, guest speakers)

In addition, a selection of student participatory seminars
are offered, including:
     - Current Research & Methods in Plant Physiological Ecology (2 units, CRN 50310)
        Instructor in charge: Jim Richards (jhrichards@ucdavis.edu)

Details for these seminar classes can be found on the
Ecology Seminar Webpage.
There are generally many more than this, but they are not posted yet (as of 1/6/13).

Education
EDU 294 - Thursdays, 4:10-7:00, 245 SOEB
    Instructor in charge:  Heidi Ballard (hballard@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Research Seminar in Science, Math, & Agricultural Education
    CRN:  51718, 4 units

Entomology
ENT 297N - Wednesdays, 12:10-1:00 pm, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Joanna Chiu (jcchiu@ucdavis.edu)
    Departmental Seminar
    CRN:  53420
ENT 291 - Wednesdays, 1:10-3:00, 1006 Haring Hall
           (possibly 70 SocSci; check with instructor, if interested)
    Instructors in charge: Gregory Lanzaro (gclanzaro@ucdavis.edu)
            and Yoosook Lee (yoosook.lee@gmail.com)
    Topic:  A review of Patrik Nosil's book "Ecological Speciation"
    CRN: 64175 (2 units, participatory seminar)
ENT 295-001 - Mondays, 3:10-5:00, 366 Briggs Hall
    Instructor in charge: Michael Parrella (mpparrella@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Agricultural Entomology and Bees
    CRN:  74557
ENT 295-002 - Wednesdays, 4:10-6:00, 366 Briggs Hall
    Instructor in charge: Neal Williams (nmwilliams@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Agricultural Entomology and Bees
    CRN:  74589

Environmental Toxicology
ETX 290 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:00, 1138 Meyer Hall (Foster Conference Room)
    Instructor in charge:  George Alexeeff (gvalexeeff@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Translating Toxicology into Public Health
    CRN:  54098

Food Science & Technology
(only for those who are really interested in the science of food)
FST 290-002 - Wednesdays, 4:10-5:00, RMI Sensory Theater
    Instructor in charge:  Carl Winter (ckwinter@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:
    CRN:  55535

Genetics
GGG 297 - Mondays, 4:10-6:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Luca Comai (lcomai@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Plant Genetics
    CRN:  contact instructor or Demian Sainz (dsainz@ucdavis.edu)

Geography
GEO 297 - Tuesdays, 12:10-1:00, 1344 Storer
    Instructor in charge:  Robert Hijmans (rhijmans@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN:  74561, 2 units
GEO 298 - Tuesdays, 12:10-2:00, 166 Hunt Hall
    Instructors in charge:  Kandace Knudson (kmknudson@ucdavis.edu),
          Joyce Gutstein, and Amber Mace
    Topic:  Translating Research to Policy- and Decision-Makers and Stakeholders
    CRN:  56231, 2 units

International Agricultural Development
IAD 290 - Tuesdays, 4:10-6:00, 101 Bowley
    Instructor in charge: Mark van Horn (mxvanhorn@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Alternatives in Agriculture:
       Plant genetic resource conservation, utilization and control,
       and globalization within the food system
    CRN:  58649, 1-2 units

Landscape Architecture
LDA 190 - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 234 Wellman
       (This is a Proseminar, upper division, not graduate level,
         so it won't satisfy the seminar requirement,
         but some quarters there are some very interesting topics covered)

    Instructor in charge:  Steven Greco (segreco@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: 
    CRN: 59187

Plant Biology
PBI 290B - Fridays, 12:10-1:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructor in charge:  Groover (agroover@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic: Seminars by visiting scientists
       on research topics of current interest
    CRN: 64778
PBI 291 - Tuesdays, 12:10-1:00, 1022 Life Sciences Addition
    Instructors in charge:  Callis, Bostock, and Rose
    Topic: Exit seminars by Plant Biology graduate students
    CRN:  64794
PBI 293 - Thursdays, 12:10-1:00, 1342 Storer
    Instructor in charge:  Kentaro Inoue (kinoue@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Postharvest Biology - Metabolism in Chloroplasts
    CRN:  64809

Plant Pathology
PLP 290 - Mondays, 9:00-9:50, 115 Hutchison
    The Winter schedule is not posted yet, but it should appear soon.
    Instructors in charge:  McRoberts & Leveau
    Topics in Plant Pathology
    CRN:  67367 (early drop deadline)

Plant Sciences
PLS 290-001 - Wednesdays, noon-1:00, 3001 PES
    The Winter schedule is not posted yet, but it should appear soon.
    Instructor in charge:  Roger Chetelat (trchetelat@ucdavis.edu)
    Topics in Plant Science (Dept Seminar Series)
    CRN:  68062

Population Biology
PBG 290 - Tuesdays, 4:10-5:30, 1022 Life Sci Building
    The Winter schedule is not posted yet, but it should appear soon.
    Instructor in charge:  Begun (djbegun@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Seminars by visiting scientists
       on research topics of current interest
    CRN:  64630

Transportation & Energy Studies
TTP 289A - Thursdays, 12:10-1:00, West Village,
       1065 Tilia, Room 1103
    Instructor in charge:  Joan Ogden (jmogden@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Transportation and Energy Journal Review
    CRN:  71871
TTP 289B - Tuesdays, 12:10-1:00, West Village,
       1065 Tilia, Room 1103
    Instructor in charge:  Joan Ogden (jmogden@ucdavis.edu)
    Topic:  Sustainable Transportation Energy Pathways Program -
       Research Seminar
    CRN:  71878